Joy!

FullSizeRender 2

JOY. What does that mean to me? Joy is deeper than happiness. It’s more sacred to me. It’s more authentic. I feel joy when I’m being my most true self. I feel joy when I overcome an obstacle or I figure out a problem. I feel joy when I sit down and write. Thinking back I have much earlier memories of reading than I do of writing. That makes sense, right? My parents read to me as a child. We had weekly library trips. Reading was a family experience.

My first memory of writing is the blue fabric journal my mom bought for me in 1980. I treasured that book. I wrote and wrote and wrote in it. It was the first place where I felt like I could be wholly myself without any fear. Those pages held no judgment. They were always there. That brought me joy. I felt like I had something to say on those pages. I wrote about school and my family. I wrote about soccer games and dinner and Grammy’s house. I wrote really bad poetry. I wrote and wrote and wrote. I figured out life in those pages.

17218535_10155919984093135_1605527477128962624_o

Writing brings me peace of mind. To this day, when I have a conflict in my life, the first thing I do is sit down and write. Writing is how I process life. Writing brings me clarity. The writing that often brings me the most joy is the writing that is not intended for anyone else’s eyes. I am the audience for much of my most important writing.

Writing for the joy of it is exactly how I feel when I sit down to write my morning pages. Writing for the joy of it is how I feel when I open the pages of my notebook to release my thoughts. Writing brings me joy.

Writing is hard too. Dorothy Parker said, “I hate writing, I love having written.” There are many days like that too. There are days when I’d rather do anything instead of my morning pages. There are days when I feel like my writing is the worst that’s ever been in the entire existence of the universe…ever. There are days when I can’t figure out how to say what I want to say on the page. Where’s the joy in those moments? Well, the joy is showing up to the page. The joy is, as Dorothy Parker says, “…having written” because even on those days, once I’m done. I feel lighter. I feel accomplished. I feel a teeny, tiny twinge of joy. Here’s a peek into my notebook entry from August 7th. I’m sharing a quote I discovered that I want to hold onto and remember!

IMG_4702

Here’s to JOY-full writing!
Consider this an invitation to write. We hope you share your thoughts about the JOY of writing! It’s easy. Here’s what you can do. Go to your blog (or start a blog). Write a post. Share a link to the post by clicking the blue frog. Find other posts and comment on their posts. We will share this invitation to write monthly with our Twitter chats.

Instant audience! We can’t wait to read your posts about JOY!

And we will see you on Twitter September 4th, 2017 at 7:30pm EST to talk about Beginnings.

 

2 thoughts on “Joy!”

Leave a Reply

